Workspace tasks

The tasks section displays information about all tasks within the application that the currently signed in user has access to. The default views are for tasks assigned to the the current user under My Tasks and all completed tasks under Completed Tasks.

There are two types of tasks:

  • Tasks that are part of a process instance are created automatically when a process flow reaches a user task. Task details including assignation and the attached form are set within the process definition as part of the user task. The Process Workspace is used only to (optionally) claim the form and complete it.

  • Standalone tasks are created outside of a process definition and have no impact on process instances. The Process Workspace can be used to create standalone tasks, assign them and (optionally) attach a form that has been defined in the application to them.

The possible statuses for tasks are:

StatusDescription
CREATEDThe task has not yet been assigned
ASSIGNEDThe task is assigned but has not been completed
SUSPENDEDThe task has been suspended and needs to be reactivated to continue
COMPLETEDThe task has been completed
CANCELLEDThe task has been cancelled and cannot be completed

Creating a standalone task

Use the following steps to start a new task:

  1. Click Create and select New Task.

  2. Enter the details for the task:

    FieldDescriptionRequired?
    NameThe name of the taskYes
    DescriptionA description of the taskNo
    PriorityThe relative priority of the task as an integerNo
    Due DateThe date the task needs to be completed byNo
    UserThe user the task will be assigned toYes, if Candidate Group is blank
    Candidate GroupThe group of users the task will provisionally be assigned to. The task must then be claimed by a single userYes, if User is blank
    FormA dropdown list of all forms available to link to a standalone taskNo

    Note: Only forms that have been set to attach to standalone tasks will be visible.

  3. Click Start to start the task.

Claiming a task

A task can be claimed if it has no user assigned. Tasks with no candidate group assigned are available to be claimed by any user, whilst those with a candidate group assigned can only be claimed by a member of that group. Completed and cancelled tasks cannot be claimed.

Use the following steps to claim a task:

  1. Search for tasks with a Status of CREATED.

    Note: Make sure the Assignee column is blank when filtering CREATED tasks.

  2. Click on the task to claim to view its properties.

  3. Click the Claim button. The task Status will update to ASSIGNED.

Unclaiming a task

A task can be unclaimed if the user it is assigned to decides to no longer work on it. Completed and cancelled tasks cannot be unclaimed.

Use the following steps to unclaim a task:

  1. Search for tasks with a Status of ASSIGNED.

    Note: This is the default filter for My Tasks

  2. Click on the task to unclaim to view its properties.

  3. Click the Unclaim button. The task Status will update to CREATED.

Task details

Selecting a specific task opens up an information panel which displays basic properties about the task.

PropertyDescriptionEditable
AssigneeThe user the task is assigned toNo
StatusThe current status of the taskNo
PriorityThe relative priority of the task as an integerYes
Due dateThe date the task needs to be completed byYes
CategoryThe categories assigned to a taskNo
CreatedThe date the task was first created onNo
Parent nameThe name of the parent task if the selected task is a subtaskNo
Parent task idThe task ID of the parent task if the selected task is a subtaskNo
End dateThe date the task was completedNo
IdThe task IDNo
DescriptionThe description of the taskNo

Filtering tasks

It is possible to update the two default views for tasks by changing the filters, or create a new custom view by clicking the Customize your filter section on any view.

The options for customizing a filter are as follows:

OptionDescription
StatusThe status of process instance to display in the filter
AssigneeThe user the task is assigned to
Task nameThe name of the task to filter on
Sort byThe column to sort by: Id, Name, CreatedDate or Priority
Order byWhether the ordering is ascending or descending

Once you have customized your filter, there are two options:

  • Save filter: Selecting this will save the filter over the current view.
  • Save filter as: Selecting this will give you the option to provide a name for a new view for your filter and add it under the Tasks section.

You can use the Delete filter option at any time to remove a view.

© 2023 Alfresco Software, Inc. All Rights Reserved.